Festival Chic at Firefly

by Jen White

IMG_2782

by Mark White

Tela Cage-back cami: Urban Outfitters (here) // navy wide leg pants: Blu Pepper (similar here) // flower crown (similar here) // gold sandals: Gianni Bini (similar here) // fish necklace: Plato’s Closet // leather bracelets: American Eagle (similar here) nail color: Essie (here) // toe color: OPI, (here)

This past weekend I went on an adventure to the Northeast with my boyfriend – camping two nights up to Dover and two nights back down to Orlando. And every single day at Firefly (a four-day alternative rock festival) was an adventure in itself. We scheduled each day full to the brim with our favorite bands’ performances. We got up close to some (Sleeper Agent and The Mowgli’s), and sat back and relaxed at others (American Authors, Young the Giant and Cage the Elephant, to name a few). My favorite two performances were Twenty One Pilots and GROUPLOVE – really nothing is more fun than feeling the bass in your chest and jumping up and down in a sea of people.

Aside from the music, the fashion scene was unlike anything I had every experienced. It seemed like some girls were just trying to wear as little clothing as possible. “Festival style” is making a huge impact on the fashion scene as I’ve experienced so far. You can’t walk through Forever 21 or Urban Outfitters without seeing knit tops, fringed ankle boots, high-waisted destroyed denim shorts, and of course flower crowns. Although I wasn’t able to get high-quality photos of what I wore at Firefly (you needed a press pass to bring in a professional camera), I recreated one of the looks I wore during the festival.

Festivals are one time that you can dress completely out of the box without being questioned (I saw some strange outfits), so I decided to depart from my usually laid-back preppy style for something a little bit more quirky. My favorite part about this outfit is that it’s so comfortable. I followed my rule of having either my top or bottom tight – not both tight or loose- with a form-fitted crop top from Urban Outfitters paired with my brand new pair of flawy wide-leg navy pants. I bought them at a small boutique truck (like a food truck, but for clothing) at Firefly, and they are my way of remembering what an awesome time I had (and they are just like wearing sweatpants!) I stacked on all the leather bracelets and cuffs I owned and threw on a few rings as well.

Firefly Close-Up

by Mark White

Firefly Jewelry Close-Up

by Mark White

Firefly Shoes

by Mark White

Firefly Close-Up

by Mark White

~ follow me on Instagram @style.and.sunshine for new looks, fashion & beauty picks, and little glimpses into my life ~

Signature-01