A Very Preppy Fourth

by Jen White

by Mark White

by Mark White

Kimchi Blue Holly lace blouse in white: Urban Outfitters (similar) // cobalt high-wasited shorts: Forever 21 (similar) // black cotton tank: Loft // gold boat shoes: Sperry Topsider // black leather purse: Dooney & Bourke (similar) // red necklace: Francesca’s (similar) // pyramid studded stretchy bracelet: Forever 21 // owl ring: Plato’s Closet (similar)

Happy fourth! To celebrate the birth of America (and the fact that I am getting a paid holiday off), I thought I’d put together a way to look classy while still being patriotic. The key to this look is subtlety – I actually wore it to work a few weeks ago. If you’re going for the all-out-American-flag-on-your-body look (which I will be rocking today) then good for you. But if you want to still keep it cute and preppy, then a nice bright pair of shorts with a white top works perfectly.

I absolutely love this top – I found it on the sale rack at Urban for $10 and am so proud of myself for it. I love the cutouts in the front, the open back and of course I’m a huge fan of lace. The super high-waisted shorts I found years ago at Forever, and they’re so flattering (I love the little pleats). The black leather purse is my Dooney which I never leave the house without. I’ll do a post about what’s inside it later, but suffice it to say that I’ve had it for 2+ years and am not going to buy a new purse anytime soon.

I kept the styling classic with this. My go-to pyramid bracelet, cream Kate Spade bow earrings, gold owl ring (I have a thing for owl rings) and gold Sperrys add a finishing touch.

Hope you guys have an awesome fourth! I’m going to try to get a picture of the shorts I’m wearing today – I made them myself!

Fourth of July Upper Body

by Mark White

Fourth of July back

by Mark White

Fourth of July necklace

by Mark White

Fourth of July jewelry

by Mark White

Fourth of July gold Sperrys

by Mark White

~ follow me on Instagram @style.and.sunshine for new looks, fashion & beauty picks, and little glimpses into my life ~

Signature-01