Chambray & Sunflowers

by Jen White

by Mark White

by Mark White

chambray shirt: The Limited (similar) // sunflower high-waisted shorts: American Apparel // white braided belt: Plato’s Closet (similar) // butterfly necklace: Lucky Brand // beaded sandals: Gianni Bini (similar) // nail color: Urban Outfitters // toe color: OPI

You really can’t beat a classic chambray shirt and patterned high-waisted shorts for the summertime. I found this shirt at Plato’s, and although it is a large, it makes it much easier to transform it into a tie-front piece. With collared shirts I usually button them up all the way to the top, but this look would work unbuttoned at the top as well (because it’s so damn hot outside!)

I struggled for a long time to find something that would go with these shorts, and I think the answer is either black or blue (denim/cobalt/sky blue). These American Apparel shorts are SO comfortable, so if you’re looking for a nice pair of high-waisted shorts that aren’t ridiculously tight but still look flattering, check out their shorts. One reason that I love this outfit is that it feels country in a trendy way. I styled it with my most colorful Lucky Brand butterfly necklace and my white braided belt, then brought out the coral colors of the shorts with my bright beaded sandals. My nail polish just so happened to match! Don’t you love when that happens?

by Mark White

by Mark White

by Mark White

by Mark White

_MG_3094

by Mark White

by Mark White

by Mark White

_MG_3095 - Version 2

by Mark White

_MG_3118

by Mark White

~ follow me on Instagram @style.and.sunshine for new looks, fashion & beauty picks, and little glimpses into my life ~

Signature-01