Product Reviews: Mascara Galore!

by Jen White

Photos by Jen White

Photos by Jen White

The Mega Plush Volum Express: Maybelline New York // LashBlast Volume: CoverGirl // Lash Love Waterproof Mascara: Mary Kay

If there’s one kind of makeup that instantly brightens up a look, it’s mascara. I could be at my most tired, and with a little concealer and a touch of mascara, I will look like I got a full night’s sleep.

I love trying out different types of mascara, but that means that I need to cycle them in and out pretty quickly since it can expire as early as three months since the day it’s opened. These three are the ones I currently use, and I’m really happy with them! Read below to see where and when to use each kind.

IMG_3700

1. The Mega Plush Volum Express by Maybelline New York: I put this on if I want my lashed to be bold and thick. This mascara is much thicker than the rest (and much more difficult to remove), so I only use it when I’m going out or if I’m going to a big event. Downside: It tends to be clumpier than other brands I’ve tried.

IMG_3704

2. LashBlast Volume by CoverGirl: This is my everyday mascara – It goes on smoothly and evenly, and gives great lash coverage. It doesn’t make your lashes as thick as the Mega Plush Volum Express, but I wouldn’t want super-bold lashes every day. This stuff is also really easy to remove at the end of the day.

IMG_3708

3. Lash Love Waterproof Mascara: This stuff is great for a hot day: it’s waterproof and it goes on very thin but still boosts up your lashes which is awesome. The downside to this one is that sometimes it can go on too thin, so I usually have to put on a few coats.

What are your favorite mascaras?

~ follow me on Instagram @style.and.sunshine for new looks, fashion & beauty picks, and little glimpses into my life ~

Signature-01