Colorblocked

by Jen White

Photos by Susan White

Photos by Susan White

top: H&M // skirt: BCBG // necklace: Plato’s Closet // shoes: The Limited // watch: Plato’s Closet // nails: Essie in “Secret Story”

This summer I most definitely started my foray into the world of business casual clothing. It all started with a trip to Banana Republic, and ever since then I’ve loved shopping for pencil skirts, blazers, and close-toed flats. This outfit was actually almost completely bought at Plato’s Closet, but the items with identifiable tags I noted up in the description for you guys.

I can’t believe that I found this BCBG skirt for only $15!  It’s super stretchy and so comfortable – and I love how it’s color blocked in red-orange and magenta. The H&M top was also an incredible find – I believe it was $12. It’s fully lined and has a zipper up the back, plus extra fluff underneath the peplum to make it stand out a bit more. The necklace I found for $6, and the watch was a purchase from two summers ago for around $4.

I absolutely love this look because it’s professional but colorful and young at the same time. I’m always trying to strike that balance, and I feel like I nailed it with this outfit. My next challenge? I need to find a two-piece matching suit for my upcoming career “trek” to NYC. Can’t wait to tell you guys about that!

IMG_4083

IMG_4043

IMG_4047

IMG_4051

IMG_4039

IMG_4060

IMG_4069

Life updates: Dylan and I have been spending every single day together doing awesome things. Yesterday morning he taught me how to shoot – and I was actually pretty good for a newbie! I had never shot a gun before, but It was SO much fun and I had the best time being a redneck in the woods (although it was hard for me to leave the house in a T-shirt, jeans and sneakers). Here’s a picture! Today we’re going to make some sushi (I love cooking with him) and hopefully watch some more Modern Family. I just can’t get enough!

Screen Shot 2014-08-24 at 11.38.34 AM

~ follow me on Instagram @style.and.sunshine for new looks, fashion & beauty picks, and little glimpses into my life ~

Signature-01