Weekly Sunshine: Positive Thoughts

by Jen White

Designed by Jen White

Designed by Jen White

Hey guys!

For this week’s #WeeklySunshine post, I wanted to share this little quote with you because it has helped me through a lot.

My freshman year of college was probably the worst year of my life. I was on top of the world senior year, had just met the love of my life and spent an amazing summer with him, and was so excited about starting at Northwestern. I had no idea how stressful and overwhelming it would be, let alone how much the weather would have an effect on my mood. I got pretty depressed beginning in the winter and even going into spring – the lack of sun was really what got me. I had no idea what it felt like to be up north during the wintertime – I had only ever experienced maybe 30 degrees, and I was in for a big shock.

Things weren’t going well for me in school (I was convinced I was failing Macroeconomics although I ended up passing), I was incredibly homesick, I missed my boyfriend like crazy, and I felt really out of place. Long story short, I woke up every day just trying to get through, going to class, going to practice, just going through the motions.

That summer, although I considered transferring, I decided to stick with NU – I really did like the school and the people I met, and I knew that my freshman year journalism courses were over and I could really start diving into what I love to do, design. My sophomore year, although it ended up being one of the worst Chicago winters in almost 20 years, was one of the best years of my (still relatively short) life.

And I drew a lesson from that experience: I needed, more than anything, to focus on making myself happy. Although I’m surrounded by the best support systems ever (my family, my boyfriend, my frisbee team, my sorority), I needed to be able to support myself. It’s tough (especially for a Florida girl like myself) to wake up on a gray day and know that you won’t see the sun at all. But simply having one positive thought as the first thing through my mind on days like that, and every day, made a world of difference.

Now, I try to focus on all of the amazing things that are going on in my life right now. I’m loving my classes (I even really like doing the reading and writing for them), I’m basically a senior in college, I have my own cozy room in one of the most beautiful houses on campus, and I have the most amazing boyfriend in the world. I’m not saying there aren’t days when I don’t want to get out of my bed, especially days like today (rainy, gray, and freezing), but even picking out the smallest detail like being excited about a certain outfit or looking forward to an exciting discussion in class that day really makes a world of difference.

So, my goal this week and my challenge to you is to start each day with a positive thought. You’d be surprised at how just the tiniest shift in perspective can make a big change in your life.

~ follow me on Instagram @style.and.sunshine for new looks, fashion & beauty picks, and little glimpses into my life ~

Signature-01